Exclusive: Dancer Boy Thomas Inge

By definition dance is, “to move rhythmically to music, typically following a set sequence of steps.” The idea behind the Dancer Boy series is to get inspired by dance, and the men that inspire us through it. Arguably dance has been part of some of the most iconic performances in entertainment. From Britney to Michael Jackson. Chicago and The Lion King on stage. Inescapably dance has elevated itself from just a set sequence of steps; Dance inspires, amazes and affects emotion.

 

 

THOMAS INGE

 

Thomas Inge By Nick Andrews for Craig Andrew James

Thomas Inge By Nick Andrews for Craig Andrew James

 

Having just finished a run in the West End Production of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Thomas’s career is going from strength to strength. With aspirations of appearing in more of the theatre world’s well known productions, it is clear Thomas is driven and heading for more success. He’s worked hard to get where he is and it shows. Having originally wanted to be a policeman, he decided to pursue dance, and started dancing at an early age. Now 22 years old, Thomas took some time out of his busy schedule to show off his dance ability, body and why there’s no denying further West End greatness beckons. Thomas talks everything from fitness to where we can see him next.

 

 

Thomas Inge By Nick Andrews for Craig Andrew James

Thomas Inge By Nick Andrews for Craig Andrew James

When did you decide that you wanted to pursue dance as a career? Was there ever a specific moment when you knew you wanted to get into the dance industry professionally?

I always wanted to be a policeman! I started dancing properly at the age of 13. It was a year or so after I decided I wanted to do it as a career. I started dancing pretty late. I used to do ballroom and latin classes when I was about ten or eleven and then I decided I didn’t want to dance anymore. Then when I was thirteen I started taking classes in ballet, tap and modern and that was where it all began I guess!

 

Has there been any particular moment in dance that has stood out for you so far in your career and what makes that particularly special?

I think the day I found out I got my first West End show. Being in the West End was the childhood dream that I didn’t really think would ever happen.

 

Do you still find yourself wanting to better yourself as a dancer and how do you try to push yourself in such a competitive industry?

Yes. Well my dream is to do a show like Cats as it’s extremely full out and dance heavy. So I’m thrilled that Cats will actually be my next job!

 

As a dancer there are obviously times when you have to show off your body, is that something that feels natural to you? Where does that confidence to show off your skin come from?

Well, I have a twin brother and we used to constantly run around in our pants (Laughing) so maybe that. I just think it’s something that kind of comes with the job.

 

You take care of yourself and your body. Is that something that you find especially important being a dancer and how do you try to maintain that on a daily basis?

I try to get to the gym at least three times a week. When I am in a show it’s much easier to go a lot more as you have a set routine. Currently it’s just going whenever I can. I actually follow the LDN Muscle Bulking Bible. Highly recommend it to anyone. I prefer chest day to leg day (laughing).

 

Thomas Inge By Nick Andrews for Craig Andrew James

Thomas Inge By Nick Andrews for Craig Andrew James

You’ve just finished up a run in the West End’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. What was that like? Being in such a well known story and show.

I finished last month. It was great, but a lot of hard work. The show was very athletic and pushed the body to the extreme. So I loved my 10 months but I couldn’t have done any longer! Unfortunately [now] it’s closed. I believe it will come back. If it does then GO SEE IT! It’s a real spectacle and great fun.

 

What was your favourite moment in the show?

My favourite moment was the Oompa Loompa’s entrance. The audience used to go mental for it.

 

What things other than dance inspire you?

I suppose my family and friends. I just love how so many of my close circle are doing so well in their area of work and goals. Also Beyoncé, she’s a babe.

 

You seem to have a strong sense of style, is that something that is important to you? Where do you draw your inspirations from?

I just really enjoy fashion. I don’t think I try to style myself on anyone in particular. I feel like 9 times out of 10 I know what works and if it works on me then I’ve already bought it in three colours!

 

What would be your goals in dance and your career over the next few years?

After tour I would love to come back and work in town a little more. If I’m totally honest, I’m just grateful to work!

 

If you could go back 10 years and give yourself any advice what would it be?

Have a little more belief in yourself and do more press ups!

 
 
 
 


Dancer: Thomas Inge

 Instagram, Twitter

Photographer:  Nick Andrews

InstagramNicholas Andrews Photography

Concept/Styling: Craig Andrew James

InstagramTwitter


 

