WEST END BARES: Sam Lathwood BARES ALL!

 

WEST END BARES, the hottest theatrical fundraiser of the year, that benefits the Make A Difference Trust, is back bigger and barer for 2016 with two shows on Sunday 25 September at 7.00pm and 9.30pm. After six sell out years, this year’s show is moving to the beautiful Novello Theatre in the heart of the West End. So with just over a week to go to the show we thought what better way to get excited for this year’s performance? Interview some of the cast of course. Over the next week some of the hottest West End stars will be baring all and revealing everything from what they’re doing in the show to when they last got naked.

 

Sam Lathwood

 

Illustration of West End Performer Sam Lathwood for Excalibare

 

The first thing that strikes you is just how infectious Sam’s personality is. You can’t help but catch those happy vibes from him. There’s a real zest for life which you can’t help but be inspired by. And there’s talent to match. Currently starring in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane this is Sam’s first time taking to the West End Bares stage. Understandably, with just over a week to go, the nerves are kicking in. No need. We are sure Sam is going to be a hit with the  bares audience. Ready to get to know more?  Okay, without further a do, it’s time to reveal all and find out how he is really feeling before next week’s big event.

 

 

Hey Sam, how are you?

Nervous and hungry…

 

So talk us through a typical day in the life for you right now?

A typical day for me.. Hmmm… Well I tend to wake up between 10:30- 11am, yeah yeah lazy I know but working evenings makes this boy sleepy! 🙈 Then I’ll zombie walk to the Nespresso machine and make a coffee. At the minute I’ve been topping up the tan in the garden as September is serving some serious sun. Then I’ll cook dinner for later, head to the gym before going into work for warm up and notes, eat dinner during the half hour call and then get my ass on stage to do the show! Afterwards I’ll either head for a drink at the pub over the road with friends, or go to the gym if I haven’t been on stage. Then I head home for a shower and catch up on the Great British Bake off or repeats of RuPaul in the best place in the world- my bed. 💁🏼

 

So for those of us who don’t know you, start by telling us a little about West End Bares and what does it mean to you?

Okay so West End Bares is one of the most popular theatrical events which happens every year where actors/ singers/ dancers all come together to put on a spectacle of a show and get their kit off to help raise money for MAD Trust, the very popular 25 year old UK based charity which helps to raise money to fight HIV and AIDS. *fist pump*

 

What made you want to be part of the West End Bares experience?

I’ve wanted to be a part of West End Bares every year since I graduated drama school but I’ve either been away working on tour OR I’ve been too scared at the thought of getting my bits and bobs out for the world to see haha! Granted I have always donated, I figured this was the year that I actually joined in. So yes this is all being done for an amazing cause but it’s also a little thing for me to overcome, getting my junk out to an audience of 1000 people is definitely something to tick off the bucket list, right? *runs and hides*

 

As a performer there are obviously times when you have to show off your body, is that something that feels natural to you?  Or are you nervous about baring all on stage?

I’ve never been in a show or in the situation where I’ve had to be naked on stage, but getting naked in the dressing room or side stage in the wings for a quick change never bothers me in the slightest. You can probably find me in the dressing room just in my pants most of the time as its so hot at the moment. However, having it all on display on stage in front of that many people… Yeah I’m nervous!!!

 

Have you been doing anything special to prepare for the show?

WELL I’ve tried to be good and cut out bread and chocolate which has been near to impossible considering I have to tuck into a bar of chocolate TWICE per show at the moment… That, and watching the Great British Bake Off after the show makes me hungrier than life. Those Yorkshire puddings 😍 I’ve been heading to the gym more just to sort of make myself feel as comfortable as I can, you know? Then there’s the body hair preparation… I’ll have to get back to you with that one though. 😉

 

What are you most excited for about the bares experience?

I’m most excited about the buzz on the actual day (Sunday 25th September, get your tickets 😉). I’ve heard it’s an insane atmosphere backstage, I also can’t wait to be a part of the show in its new venue too, exciting!

 

Can you tell us anything about your performance(s) in the show?

Hmmm I don’t want to give too much away… You might catch me in the opening number partnered with a two time Olivier award winning actor giving it some naked tap dancing… Just maybe. 😏

 

Why should people come see the show, apart from helping such a great cause?

Besides the fact that they’re supporting an incredible cause, people should come and see the show to have fun! It’s going to be an insane night with a killer atmosphere and the audience will be laughing their pants off (hopefully, then we’ll all be naked together). The energy throughout the entire theatre will be buzzing, don’t be the one to miss out!!

 
 

 Quick Bares with Sam Lathwood…

 

 


 

Follow Sam on Twitter:  @SLathwood

Follow Sam on Instagram: @samlathwood

See Sam in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: Info here

 


Tickets for WEST END BARES are now on sale  and available from www.delfontmackintosh.co.uk, www.seetickets.com, the DMT WEST END BARES booking line 0844 482 5172 and in person at the Novello Theatre Box Office. *Booking fees apply. Exclusive VIP packages are available through DMT Hospitality (0844 482 5166).

 

