Music Talk with David John Craig!

CraigCity Banner

Talented, generous, unique. One of our biggest inspirations. And blessed with model good looks. 2016 has already been amazing for D.J. Craig and is shaping up to be the “year of all years!” There’s really no better time to get to know this amazing man. So welcome to #CraigCity week on Craig Andrew James. All week we will be bringing you a lot more from D.J. Craig including interviews, illustrations and a few surprises along the way. Craig City meets CraigAndrewJames.com

 

 

It’s all about the Music….

 

We saved the best till last. Wait… Does it really have to be the last one? If you’ve seen the earlier #CraigCity week posts then you’ve probably got to know a lot about David (and seen a lot of him too) and hopefully  you’re feeling inspired by everything David John Craig. Of course we couldn’t have Craig City on Craig Andrew James and not find out all the details about what’s happening musically with David. And if you’re anything like us, your definitely dying to know when new music is coming and what inspires his writing. Don’t worry we have all the answers. In today’s music industry D.J. Craig is a breath of fresh air and we welcome his difference and unique perspective on the world. This week with David has been amazing… We want a one way ticket to #CraigCity and we’re not sure we’d be coming back. But in all seriousness this isn’t the last we will be bringing you from #CraigCity.

 
 

 

You’re constantly working on your music. How did you get started in music and what’s that been like for you?

I fell in love with music early, but it wasn’t until I watched School of Rock that I caught the bug. I knew in that moment that’s what I had to do with my life. Nothing had ever made my heart race like that. So then I started playing and singing and trying my best to be like the people I saw on TV. Flash forward to 2011 when I came to LA to audition for a company looking to develop new artists. I was fortunate to be chosen and met my creative partner Chán André who has been developing me and really teaching me everything there is to know about the business. Also together we’ve created a full project for me entitled “BRICKXBRICK”. Something I can say I’m extremely proud of and although I can’t wait to get it out, we’re working hard and being patient to connect with the right people and do it right. I wish I had it in me to be a social media star, but that’s not really my “style”. But eventually, I know I’ll have a team of people who will make sure my music takes over the world!

 

We love your song “the end”. Do you have a personal favourite song of your own? And how would you describe your musical style?

Thank you for the love on “The End”, that’s a fun song. My personal favorite is called “ENOUGH” from my BXB project. It’s something I can’t really explain. It’s a sort of “spiritual” experience, recording it, listening to it, and especially singing it. It’s a song that gets a lot of comments from everyone who has heard the project. They all say they cry when they hear it. That’s an amazing feeling to know that the energy that created is, lives in it for people to feel. Can’t wait to share that with the world.

 

There is a real authenticity to your music. What inspires you? Do you draw inspiration from your every day life?

To be honest, I’m not one of those artists who write from a great deal of tragedy or pain. I’ve been really blessed to have a great life so far. My music is really about a broader look at the world in the big picture. I get really hurt by all the evil I see in this world, and everyday I feel this burn to want to do something about it. So we put it in the music. There aren’t a lot of personal stories on my project, rather, a deep look into the heart of the human experience. I guess it’s like Michael Jackson was always writing about healing the world… that’s how I feel. I hope that my music will touch people and open eyes and wake them up to accept people more and be nicer and more understanding and loving to everyone.

 

Do you find it difficult in today’s music industry to try to keep things fresh and different? Is that something that’s important to you?

Well, the one thing I am is different from today’s music. Lol… It scares me sometimes because I listen to stuff that I love and I think that it’s so different from what I’m saying. I don’t sing about clubs and drugs or partying, because I don’t really know that life. I don’t sing lyrics that will make women feel bad. It’s important to me to be on the other side of the scale on those things. Will people want to hear songs about self-love and being better to other people instead of hearing about how much money I make and how famous I am? Will they be attracted to songs about not committing suicide and ending war and hate? I don’t know, but it’s really who I am. So that’s different… And it’s real.

 

Growing up who was the artists you identified with and enjoyed listening to?

Oh man… that’s a list! Journey, Phil Collins, Michael Jackson, Foreigner and then more recently, OneRepublic, Coldplay, Kendrick Lamar, Lauryn Hill, Thirty Seconds To Mars, Imagine Dragons, The 1975, One Direction, Justin Timberlake, Maroon 5, The Script, Prince, Whitney Houston, Eminem… I mean, I could go on for hours!

 

When can we expect more music from you?

We were just talking about that last night. There’s a feeling that now would be a good time to share something. We just don’t know what. I want to make sure whatever it is makes a clear point. If it’s coming out from now on, it’s from BXB, and that means it will mean a LOT to me to have it out there. I guess we’ll know what we’re doing in the next couple of days! I also plan to do a “Stream Week” where I pick a list of people and share the full project with them to get feedback. Not sure when but soon.

 


Instagram: @davidjohncraig

Twitter: @davidjohncraig

Tumblr: davidjohncraig

SoundCloud: iAmDjCraig


Banner Photo’s credit goes to original photographer. Banner created by Craig Andrew James.

 

 

