Quick Fire Questions with James Butcher

 

James Butcher, a trained Royal Ballet school dancer, has just finished up his role of playing ‘older Billy’ in the West End production of Billy Elliot. Having been very musical as a kid, James started dance at a young age. He has since went from strength to strength and, at only twenty-six years old, has a vast career ahead of him. So as his time playing Billy drew to a close we decided to take some time to get to know James a little better and have him answer some quick fire questions on everything from life to the last time he cried. Oh and of course he snapped us some exclusive selfies. Enjoy!

 

 

Was dance and performance always something you wanted to do and what do you love about it so much?

I was very musical as a kid and used to play the drums. So I started out doing tap dance at a young age, which is definitely still my favourite discipline. But then I found out I also loved the strict discipline of ballet that tap didn’t have as it is so free and interpretive. I love that ballet also teaches you a lot about yourself and how to develop as a person.

 

So what stands out as a particular highlight in your career so far?

Definitely being offered a contract into the Royal Ballet Company upon graduating, which I never thought would happen to me. It’s a time of my career I’ll never forget.

 

Always being so busy do you find it difficult to make time for love? And what makes the ideal partner?

Yeah I think for any guy in London it’s a task. For us lot performing every night it makes it even harder but I think because it’s always the way it’s going to be, when it does happen, it makes it more valuable. [The ideal partner would be] someone who is supportive and interested in what I do. But also someone removed from the industry a bit as I can’t see myself with another performer. A sense of fun and who doesn’t take it all too seriously and can make me laugh.

 

And what’s next for you? Anything exciting coming up?

I’m actually going to welcome the break with open arms. I was offered a job in Paris but I think London is the place to be. Looking forward to experiencing London with free evenings! I am auditioning so I hope it won’t be too long for my next gig.

 

 

Favourite place on earth?

NYC.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs.

 

Go to song in the shower?

Part of your world- The Little Mermaid. Reprise.

 

Who’s the best kiss you’ve ever had?

Don’t know his name. In Paris.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Ryan Reynolds.

 

When was the last time you got naked?

Just now in the gym.

 

What’s your favourite part of your body?

My legs.

 

What part of your body gets the most compliments?

My abs.

 

Man-scaping or Natural?

Man scape!!!!!!!

 

What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done?

Performed at the O2 with just me on stage opening the show in front of thousands of people.

 

What did you want to be when you were younger?

Spider-man!

 

Would you rather give up sex or food?

Sex.

 

What’s your best chat up line?

I don’t think I’ve ever chatted anyone up but would be just “Get your coat you’ve pulled”! (Laughing).

 

What’s your favourite work out?

Anything on the freeletics app that makes me not able to walk the next day.

 

What’s the best advice you’ve been given?

Never shy away from something/someone out of the ordinary.

 

When was the last time you cried?

Yesterday at a video on Facebook.

 

In 5 years you would like to be…?

Happy and successful.

 

What’s the lasting impression you’d like to leave?

Someone who knew how to have fun but also was successful in what he did.

 


Follow James on Instagram

