Model Talk with Ollie Peake!

“The idea behind our Model Talk series is a simple one. Give male models a voice. Often male models are seen as the accessory in a shoot. So often they wear the clothes or front the campaign but we never get to know them. So why not change that? So over the next few months we will be sitting down and taking the time to get to know some of the top models in the industry and who knows what we all might learn.”

 

 

OLLIE PEAKE

 

Oliver Peake

Oliver Peake by Pat Supsiri

 

There’s been a distinct Australian flavour over at Craig Andrew James the last few months, with a lot of hot Australians gracing our blog pages. We hope you’re not sick of them just yet as we’re saying g’day to one more of the land down under’s hot commodities. You can tell Ollie, who is a model and personal trainer, is pretty grounded and hasn’t let his success go to his head. “I’m super thankful for what I have and ain’t taking anything for granted,” he says. Ollie grew up in Adelaide surrounded by a strong family unit. Modelling keeps his schedule busy and at just twenty-five years old it shows no signs of slowing down any time soon. “I live a reasonably busy life, travelling around to different places for work during the year. However, I also like to keep it simple,” says Ollie. There is nothing simple about his looks, right? We will let you judge that as the interview unfolds. So who wants to get to know Ollie better? Well you’re in luck, he’s here telling us all about life, career and what he likes to sing in the shower. And he’s pretty funny too. You’ll know what we mean when you’ve finished reading!

 

 

 

It’s funny, modelling wasn’t actually something that ever crossed my mind.

 

Was modelling something you always wanted to pursue and how did you get started in that industry?

It’s funny, modelling wasn’t actually something that ever crossed my mind. I’m not kidding, I basically didn’t even consider it to be a career that existed! I was always set on the idea of entering the fitness industry to some degree, which I’m doing now. In terms of my modelling career, I was scouted by my now agent on the streets of Adelaide. I decided to graduate from university and backpack around Europe before actually commencing modelling as a full-time job. When I did, I moved to Melbourne, and since then have travelled to Asia as well as Europe for work.

 

What was your first modelling job?

The first ever modelling job I worked was an editorial shooting in Melbourne. Chadwick Models, my agency in Melbourne flew me over from Adelaide on a Tuesday night, worked all day Wednesday and flew back home first thing Thursday morning. It was real in and out! The job itself was great! I worked with an amazing team at a location about 2 hours outside of Melbourne. The name eludes me, but it was an underground mine shaft. So, all the equipment was transported about 100m down by a mini steam-train. I kid you not, it was freezing down there and the nipples were erect. Laura Wood, the female model was amazing. Justin Henry, a world-renown make up artist killed it. And the photographer David Reiss and stylist Maurizio Laino were incredible at their crafts.

 

You’ve worked with some amazing photographers, is there any shoots that stand out for you and what made them particularly special to you?

Almost every shoot I’ve ever done has been a great experience for me. It’s very cool to see professionals master their art in front of my eyes. And I definitely do not consider modelling to be a profession. But I especially appreciate the talent of all the photographers I’ve had the opportunity to work with. Photography has always been something I’ve been interested in, and the things I learn from them is invaluable. A special mention goes out to Paul Fitzgerald, a photographer in Melbourne for all his guidance. Legend. A shoot I did recently was up there for favourite shoot. I flew over to Perth to shoot the Betts Shoes Campaign and stayed for a few nights. The shooting day was great, in a huge studio just outside of Perth with a great team and my friend Brooke Hogan from Melbourne. And the thing that made it so special was the fully catered Subway lunch and Australia vs India cricket on the plasma screens. All that was missing was a few beers and maybe a pop tart.

 

Ollie Peake

Ollie Peake by Johnny Diaz Nicolaidis

 

I don’t mind walking around nude in the house or around the streets

 

As a model there are obviously times when you have to show off your body, is that something that feels natural to you? Where does the confidence to show off your skin come from?

It was something I definitely had to work on. I don’t mind walking around nude in the house or around the streets, but there’s something about a group or even a crowd of people just staring at you in your birthday suit. After a while I just made peace with the fact that this would just become part of the routine. 

 

You clearly work hard on your body; fitness must be a big part of your life?  Is there anything special you like to do to keep in shape?

Fitness has always been a big part of my life. I played football and cricket throughout my entire school years. After high school, I graduated from the University of South Australia with a Bachelor of Human Movement (Exercise Science) and during this time, also joined a gym. Joining the gym was probably the best life decision I’ve ever made, and something that I’ve been doing for over 7 years now. Fitness to me is a well-balanced and positive lifestyle aimed at progression towards a goal, pretty simple. It’s not all this nonsense scattered around the place about new revolutionary master weight loss plans and super supplements. The industry at the moment is a bit twisted. There’s no secrets to achieving the body of your dreams, you just have to be smart about it. 

 

What’s your favourite part of your body and what do you find gets the most compliments on shoots?

Couldn’t really say. I like having blue eyes, but they’re so sensitive to sunlight. In the summer my skin tans and goes super soft which is nice, but during the winters I transform into a ghost like creature. No one has ever complimented my feet. I guess my lips never let me down. My answer is lips.

 

Are there any designers or photographers that you would love to work with and what would be your dream campaign to shoot?

I could always go for the big time Calvin Klein Underwear Campaign shot by Peter Lindbergh with Kendal Jenner which would obviously be great, but my chances are slim. Rather, I’ve set my sights on doing a TV commercial for Nutella and being paid in a lifetime supply of that sweet chocolate spread. 

 

 

I’ve set my sights on doing a TV commercial for Nutella and being paid in a lifetime supply of that sweet chocolate spread.

 

Has there ever been any embarrassing moments happen to you whilst modelling?

Just the one time almost walking onto the runway with my balls hanging out my undies. Genuinely didn’t realise there was a button to keep them in.. Why? Lucky for final checks. Generally things are just funny, not embarrassing.

 

What’s the craziest thing you’ve been asked to do as a model and would you do it again?

I’ve travelled to some crazy places, Milan, Paris, Hong Kong. I’ve done some crazy things. But the craziest is simply agreeing to shoot in underwear when it’s going to be cold. Very cold. And its far from flattering for males especially. Not ideal. Lets not do that again.

 

When you’re not modelling what else do you like to do to keep busy?

When I’m not modelling, I’m studying at a Fitness College in Adelaide, dabbling with the camera, at the gym, at the beach, eating pop tarts, watching Disney movies, picking up the dog shit in the backyard, doing the dishes, walking, taking pictures of sunsets and seeing friends. Pretty regular routine.

 

Ollie Peake

Ollie Peake by Jasmine Dwyer

 

What’s something that people don’t know about you or would find surprising to know?

I have a twin brother. I guess that’s somewhat interesting. And I live on the beach in Somerton Park which is special, but if you have me on snapchat you probably know that. Most of you probably don’t know that my Mother is actually an angel. No joke, an angel.

 

If you could change one thing about the modelling/fashion industry what would it be and why?

To be honest, I wouldn’t really change much. Of course there are issues that should be tackled regarding health concerns of models. Particularly body image issues predominantly found within the female industry. But it is what it is. If you choose this industry, this is what you get. At the end of the day, be happy and do what you want to do. I’m just a lucky guy riding the wave so I can’t complain. 

 

Finally, where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years and what’s coming up from you that we should look out for?

Career wise, definitely continuing to work in the fitness industry. Maybe a little modelling on the side, assuming I don’t age like milk out the fridge. Keeping watching, big things to come!

 

Quick Fire Questions

 

 

Favourite Place on Earth?

Home.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Sticky Fingers. And Alina Baraz.

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

If it’s a morning shower, U Don’t Know (Slander Remix) – Alison Wonderland to wake me up! And a shower at night to wind me down always needs a little bit of Wash – Bon Iver.

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

Shut Up Meg.

 

What’s your favourite piece of clothing you own?

I don’t leave the house without wearing my watch.

 

What’s a top beauty or style tip you live by? 

Keep it simple. But do what you want.

 

When was the last time you got naked?

I’m always nakey.

 

Best advice you’ve ever been given?

“It is what it is”

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Has to be Kendall Jenner doesn’t it..

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

Happy.


 

Model with Chadwick (AUS), DT (LA), Urban (MILAN), M (PARIS), Dominique (BRUSSELS)   

Instagram: @olliepeake

All selfies exclusive to the Model Talk Series by Craig Andrew James. Photoshoot photos provided by Ollie and Credit goes to the original photographer.

