Feature Follower: Jonathan Castano Acero

Continuing the Australian trend, this month’s feature follower is another hot export from the land down under. Having played professional soccer (football, depending on where you’re at) at the top league for over 10 years, Jonathan has made the transition into personal training where he finds himself at the top of his game. “Coming from a sports based background, it was inevitable that I would end up in the Fitness Industry”, says Jonathan. So as he gets even busier we decided to take the time to get to know what Jonathan is all about and what it takes to make it to the top in fitness.

 

Jonathan Castano Acero

 

Jonathan Castano Acero Illustration

 

Are there any moments in your career so far that stand out for you?

Recently, I won the number 1 Trainer for Virgin Active Asia Pacific for 2015. Winning this award is the highest achievement any Personal Trainer can win, this is a special achievement for me as the consistent hard work I put in during the whole year has contributed to winning this award. Hard work really does pay off!

 

Looking at your social media and the work you do, it’s clear you keep in insane shape. What’s your secret to looking so good and how do you keep things fresh compared to other fitness instructors?

I think the main thing with Fitness is consistency. Even in my busy schedule I always aim to fit in at least 1 session a day. Also it’s a part of my lifestyle to eat healthy but also allowing myself to indulge here and there. I am quite [an] experimental guy so not afraid to change things up here and there. I will say one thing though, once you find something that works for you, stick to it. I always find I go back to things that have worked for me in the past, that’s how I keep my workouts fresh and results driven.

 

 

What’s your favorite part of your body and what gets the most compliments from others?

I would say my legs because there is nothing like a good leg burn on a good leg day! And lucky enough to say that is the most complimented body part.

 

You’ve also done some modeling. What’s your experience in that industry and what do you love about it?

Modelling is great as it always seems to get you outside your comfort zone, you get to be someone else for the day especially coming from a Personal Trainer background my clients are usually the ones modeling! Haha. I have done some work for various sporting brands and also just managed to get into doing some stuff for Target Australia.

 

What other stuff, when you’re not working and modelling, do you like to get up to?

I am a huge foodie, I love to try new foods and restaurants so if anyone has a good place please tell me J I am currently trying to eat at all top 50 hamburger places in Sydney. I love to explore outdoors and travel is a huge part of me and can’t forget my little dog Hugo.

 

 

Jono Acero by Jarrod Adams

 

If you could go back and give advice to your 18 year old self what would that be and where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years?

The advice I would give my 18 year old self is never stress, things in life always fall into place, when one door closes another two open so just sit tight chase your dreams and don’t be disappointed when things don’t go your way.

Career wise in 5 years I would love to be on a [television] show relating to Fitness. In life I wish I could travel more and have a started a family.

 

 

What is the lasting impression you would like to leave for the readers?

I like the quote by Oscar Wild that says “ be yourself, everyone else is taken, sometimes we get so caught up in trying to impress others that we forget to show our true self’s. We hold back opinions say no to our own creative ideas and downplay our personalities for the fear of being judged”

 

 

Quick Fire Questions

 

 

Jono Acero by Jarrod Adams

 

 

Favourite place on earth?

Bora Bora

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Eminem

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

Loose yourself- Eminem

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

A Team

 

What is your favourite work out clothing that you always wear?

Adidas hands down.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Amy Maree Comber check her out on instagram 😉

 

 

Who’s the best kiss you’ve ever had?

Amy Comber

 

What do you wear to bed?

Briefs

 

What’s the best fitness advice you’ve ever been given?

Every Professional was once an Amateur

 

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

One word! AMAZING


Instagram: @acerotrainingseries

Facebook: Acero Training Series

 

