Model Talk with Sean Daniels!

“The idea behind our Model Talk series is a simple one. Give male models a voice. Often male models are seen as the accessory in a shoot. So often they wear the clothes or front the campaign but we never get to know them. So why not change that? So over the next few months we will be sitting down and taking the time to get to know some of the top models in the industry and who knows what we all might learn.”

 

SEAN DANIELS

 

 

Originating from San Antonio, Texas, Sean is fairly new to the model industry, but he has certainly wasted no time in carving a career for himself. Despite his relatively fast rise to fame in the modelling world, Sean has kept his feet firmly on the ground and his chiselled shoulders hold a sensible head on them. “I graduated from UT San Antonio in 2014 with my Bachelor’s Degree in Architecture.  I love to travel and I prefer to be outdoors and when Im not doing that, I love making art and building things,” he says. So with things set to only get busier and better for Sean, we decided to make him pause for a second and fill us in on everything from career to love and what’s coming next!

 

Sean Daniels

 

As I grew older and came into my own, I realized that I’m perfect the way that I am.

 

Was modelling something you always wanted to pursue and how did you get started in that industry?

Modeling was always something I wanted to pursue since I was young. I enjoy being in front of the camera and I was lucky enough to be offered representation by AIG Talent, through a friend, who then got me signed with DT Models in LA in February of 2015.

 

You’ve worked with some amazing photographers, is there any shoots that stand out for you and what made them particularly special to you?

I have worked with some amazing photographers. Every single one I value equally because each has taught me something different, whether it’s how to look and feel confident in front of the camera or something as simple as how to flex (laughing). If I had to pick a favorite, it would be based on location. My shoot with Lucas Passmore last summer was in Malibu State park in the wilderness. It was so cool.

 

Are there any designers or photographers that you would love to work with?

I would love to shoot with Mario Testino and also Tony Duran. They are both so talented.

 

As a model there are obviously times when you have to show off your body, is that something that feels natural to you? 

When I have to show off my body, the answer is no – it doesn’t feel natural to me. It is something that I haven’t always had the confidence to do, to be honest. I’m naturally really skinny and when I was younger I was really insecure about it. I always looked up to my older brother who was a football player and it was he who introduced me to weightlifting in middle school, and I’ve kept it up ever since. As I grew older and came into my own, I realized that I’m perfect the way that I am. I’m still thin but now I enjoy it. You gotta know your self-worth!

 

 

You’re insanely fit!  Is there anything special you do to keep in shape?

The most “special” thing I do to keep in shape is having a clean diet – first and foremost. Second is working out. My favorite workout in the gym is weighted abs. I have found that weighted abs really works for me and the results prove it to be true.

 

What’s your favourite part of your body and what do you find gets the most compliments on shoots?

My favorite part of of my body is probably my chest but I get the most compliments on my butt, during shoots and not, (laughing).

 

Sean Daniels

 

Has there ever been any embarrassing moments happen to you whilst modelling?

I guess the most “embarrassing moment I’ve had was my first shoot with a girl, in the nude. We had to get into the water and it was a tiny bit cold – if you know what I mean.

 

What’s the craziest thing you’ve been asked to do as a model and would you do it again?

I guess the craziest thing I’ve been asked to do as a model was to get undressed on camera, but not in a “sexual” way……Like… what other way is there to get undressed?? (Laughing).That was a little challenging for me. Maybe it’s the just the jokester inside me that naturally wanted to at least pretend to look “sexy” for a laugh, even though I’d probably fail miserably at it. I would definitely do it again.

 

 

I haven’t met anyone special yet but I’m not exactly searching. When I do it will all be about balance.

 

When you’re not modelling what else do you like to do to keep busy and tell us something not many people know about you?

When I’m not modeling I’m either at the gym, hiking or by a pool/beach. Most people (in LA) don’t know my artistic side. I can draw pretty well and I like to make art. I haven’t done much lately but thats starting to change. I have some cool stuff coming soon so stay tuned!

 

Being so busy working do you find it difficult to make time for your relationships?

Being so busy does hinder relationships. I haven’t met anyone special yet but I’m not exactly searching. When I do it will all be about balance. The person I fall in love with will be my cheerleader and vice versa. People make the most time for the things they care about most – remember that. The things I look for in a partner are: integrity, intelligence, humor, selflessness and confidence. And if they love Sourpatch Kids that’s a plus.

 

Where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years and what’s coming up from you that we should look out for?

In 5 years I don’t know where I see myself to be honest. I’m living in the now. I don’t have it all planned out but I look at life as an adventure and I want to do as much as possible – right now that’s modeling. Obviously I would love to be THE BIGGEST TOP MODEL ON THE FACE OF THE EARTH.. But to be honest I’m just happy to be here – Alive, healthy, and surrounded by good people.…I have some really cool photoshoots coming soon AND some art that I’m excited/nervous to share. So keep a lookout for both!

 

Quick Fire Questions

 

 

Favorite place on earth?

The Narrows, Blanco Texas. The most hidden oasis in Texas.

 

Boxers or briefs?

Boxers.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

ILYSB by: LANY

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

Sometimes – Wolf Saga

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

WaWaWa Amigos (lol)

 

Favorite piece of clothing you own?

Pineapple short sleeve button down.

 

What’s a top beauty or style tip you live by?

Effortless (still trying to perfect it).

 

When was the last time you got naked?

(Laughing) I’m naked right now (about to hop in the shower).

 

Best advice you’ve ever been given?

“Treat others how you want to be treated”.

 

Who’s your Celebrity Crush?

Rosie Huntington Whiteley.

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

It feels amazing to be me right now! I have loving friends and family and I live 20 minutes from the beach!


Model / Actor with DT Models and AIG Talent.

Instagram @danielssean

Twitter:  @seandaniels89

All selfies exclusive to the Model Talk Series by Craig Andrew James. Photoshoot photos provided by Sean and Credit goes to the original photographer.

