Feature Follower: Nick Len

This month’s feature follower is yet another hot Australian. Originally from Melbourne, he now resides in London, working as a performer and musician. His early years and upbringing helped him find a love for dance and performance. “I… was introduced to dancing by watching my older sister at her dance concerts.  I grew up in a really musical family so I had a lot of practise,”  he says. Since then he’s found himself on the West End Stage and on primetime Television in Australia, on one of their biggest talent competitions. If you haven’t worked it out by now we are of course introducing you to Nick Len, and we talked career, love and life with, in our opinion, one of Australia’s hottest imports.

 

Nick Len

 

What the heck!? Who do I think I am having millions of people watching me on the telly haha

 

How did you get started in the work that you do and what background do you have in it?

I started playing classical piano at 5 and grew up playing music and singing with my brothers weekly.  I then was introduced to dancing by watching my older sister at her dance concerts.  I grew up in a really musical family so I had a lot of practise!  I started my Bachelor of Music when I finished high school.  After that I got the musical theatre bug and decided to take my dancing and singing a lot more seriously and went to Patrick Studios Australia to study performance.

 

Are there any moments in your career so far that stand out for you?

My most memorable moment was opening night at the London Palladium with my first West End job.  I remember it so clearly the curtain call coming out and thinking “Wow – this is so crazy!” and how lucky I was to be flown across the world to bow with Barry Humphries.  I also remember when I was on The Voice and I got a chair turn thinking ‘What the heck!? Who do I think I am having millions of people watching me on the telly haha” and seeing my first single out in the iTunes Australian Charts!

 

 

 

I’m generally a really shy and nervous person

 

Looking at your social media, it’s clear you keep in shape. Is fitness something that is important to you and what’s your secret to looking so good?

Ha ha, well I’m glad it looks like that.  I do enjoy looking after myself not just physically but mentally.  I think going to the gym helps you with both at the same time! I really like lemon water in the morning, it’s SO easy and it’s the best for cleansing your body. I don’t think it’s much of a secret, but you eating well is really important!  Also my favourite fitness quote is ‘Nobody ever left the gym and thought ‘I regret that!’’. I’ve also started on the Joe Wicks Lean in 15 book which is brilliant!  In saying all this…. I LOVE junk food and everyone should be allowed cheat food!

 

You also sing and play the piano and made it onto the Voice AU? How did that all start for you and how has being on such a high-profile show changed your career since?  

I’m generally a really shy and nervous person so I was quite reluctant to go on the show.  Each time I got past another round I was so surprised!  I didn’t really expect to do that well.  When I was eliminated from the show I was pretty upset but realised I had a lot of growing up to do as a person so it was the best thing for me.  It was great to get the exposure from the show and it opened a lot of doors for me after it aired.  I started writing music with different artists in Australia which is something I really enjoy!  Was really cool when a song I co-wrote started charting on iTunes!

 

 

I want to be able to be old one day and say that I worked hard but I had the time of my life!

 

What other stuff, when you’re not working, do you like to get up to?  

I was just thinking the other day I really need to find some hobbies! I really enjoy reading, finding new Netflix series’, going to the cinema, going the gym and finding places in London I’ve never been.  Reading back on that I sound like such a bore…

 

We know from your “Christmas Quick Fire Questions” that you answered for us at the end of last year that you are madly in love. Is it hard to maintain a relationship while working so hard and what’s the secret to making it work?  

I very much am! I think when you’ve found the right person it just works and is simple – he is my best friend first and foremost.  Of course we miss each other a lot – I’ve spent almost half of my time in the UK on tour; but with FaceTime and smart phones, it’s so easy to get in contact.  I think making the most of the time you have when you are together is really important.

 

 

If you could go back and give advice to yourself starting out your career what would that be and where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years?

“Believe in yourself you idiot!”  As far as the future, more than anything, I want what everyone wants; To be happy.  What ever job prospect that is; I want to be able to be old one day and say that I worked hard but I had the time of my life!  Life is so short and we aren’t here long enough to not take chances!  Hopefully I’ll be in the west end working away!

 

What is the last impression you would like to leave for the readers?

This is a hard… but my favourite quote that I heard off Sierra Boggess “You are enough, you are so enough, it is unbelievable how enough you are!”

 
 

Quick Fire Questions

 

 

Favourite place on earth?

The beach.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Say my name – Destiny’s Child

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

Anything John Legend.

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

Nixstix… haha what an awful name.

 

Who’s your biggest inspiration?

Sierra Boggess.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Ariana Grande.

 

Who’s the best kiss you’ve ever had?

Patrick of course!

 

What do you wear to bed?

Not a lot….

 

What’s your favourite part of your body?  

My legs.

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

It feels strange that none knows what’s going on inside my head except me… so that’s pretty cool.


Twitter @nicklen90

 Instagram @nicklen90

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NickLen

