Model Talk With Andrew Morrill

“The idea behind our Model Talk series is a simple one. Give male models a voice. Often male models are seen as the accessory in a shoot. So often they wear the clothes or front the campaign but we never get to know them. So why not change that? So over the next few months we will be sitting down and taking the time to get to know some of the top models in the industry and who knows what we all might learn.”

  

ANDREW MORRILL

 
 
Andrew Morrill
  

Andrew Morrill is one of London’s most sought after models and just looking at him you can see why. Originally from Texas Andrew moved to London seven years ago to pursue the modelling career he started as an University student back in Texas. Don’t worry though, he hasn’t left his Texas roots behind. “I actually have a ranch.  With horses and cows and things like that.  I’m not Texan in name only,” says Morrill. So if you’re not already sold, then get ready to get to know this Texan hunk a little better, as we talk modelling, life and love with Andrew and he was all we expected and more. 

  

 

Was modelling something you always wanted to pursue and how did you get started in that industry?

Yes it was.  I started modelling when I was a college/university student back in Texas.  One of my friends had gotten a job to walk in a local menswear show and asked me to come along.  It started as just an easy way to make some extra money in between classes.   

 

You’ve worked with some amazing photographers, is there any shoots that stand out for you and what made them particularly special to you?

The most recent shoot I did with Josh Brandao for Nord Magazine was a really great experience.  He and his entire team are just so easy to work with and the wardrobe was particularly amazing – Tom Ford, YSL, Dsqaured to name a few. 

Shooting in Milan with Gianpaolo Barbieri was also a highlight: the man is a legend.  I remember walking into his studio and seeing the shots he had done of Monica Bellucci, Audrey Hepburn, David Gandy and on and on hanging on the wall.  Was quite an experience. 

 

Andrew Morrill

 

Posing in underwear or less was something I had to learn to be comfortable with but now its completely natural.

 

Has there been anything in your life that you found difficult to overcome or that has helped to particularly shape you as a person and push you forward as a model?

I’m not meaning to answer your question literally but I genuinely think everybody has body issues – this is especially true for those of us in this industry.  It’s not an entirely easy profession; it requires a lot of discipline and a certain degree of confidence which is surprisingly hard to maintain.  I love what I do though; it’s really the only job I’ve ever enjoyed and that is what pushes me forward.  If you love what you do you’ll never work a day in your life – or something like that.

 

As a model there is obviously times when you have to show off your body, is that something that feels natural to you?

Part of that is natural inclination.  There are friends of mine – good looking men – who hate having their photo taken.  I always liked it!  Posing in underwear or less was something I had to learn to be comfortable with but now its completely natural.   And to be honest stripping down on a set is also completely normal to me now.  When you have 30 outfits to change into it would be a little ridiculous to sneak off somewhere each time to preserve your modesty.  Plus, most of the time the stylist is dressing you anyway, the make-up person is fixing your hair and so on.  I just let them do their job because it works better for everyone.  I’m comfortable in my skin.

 

 

Gay, straight, man or woman my legs tend to get comments.

 

 

You clearly work hard on your body; fitness must be a big part of your life?

Fitness for me is about consistency.  You have to put in the hours when you feel like it and when you don’t.  I’m a gym guy though I occasionally spin.  I enjoy lifting weights and listening to my music.  It’s a stress reliever for me. 

 

What’s your favourite part of your body and what do you find gets the most compliments on shoots?

Typically, it’s my chest and legs.  Gay, straight, man or woman my legs tend to get comments. The chest as well; my gym buddies’ nickname for me is ‘Pecs’ so that must mean something. 

 

Are there any designers or photographers that you would love to work with and what would be your dream campaign to shoot?

Dolce and Gabbana – I have always loved their work and could die a happy man if I shot a campaign for them.  For photographers Giampaolo Sgura or Bruce Weber.  They are masters. 

 

Has there ever been any embarrassing moments happen to you whilst modelling?

Plenty.  On my very first cover shoot, when I was living in Hong Kong, the stylist brought a gorgeous Vivian Westwood snakeskin suit for me to wear.  It was a sample.  My chest is 42 inches.  The concept of the shoot was that I was supposed to be jumping around and throwing my arms up.  Those things do not fit well together.  I ripped the back of the jacket clear in half.  I’m sure that poor girl is still traumatised and I was more than a little embarrassed.   

 

When you’re not modelling what else do you like to do to keep busy?

Fitness takes up a large amount of my free time.  Travel as well.  When I’m not shooting the process of getting the jobs, i.e. going to castings/social media/etc, is surprisingly time consuming.  I like to read too. 

 

 

There are friends of mine – good looking men – who hate having their photo taken.  I always liked it!

 

Being so busy working do you find it difficult to make time for your relationships? 

Yes and no.  I’m typically gregarious and friendly so I meet a lot of people but close friends are a relatively small circle.  We make time for each other.

 

What do you look for in your ideal partner?

I’m very lucky to have one already.  7 years and counting.  

 

Finally, where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years and what’s coming up from you that we should look out for?

To still be working.  Longevity in this business is the ultimate prize.  But if that is not to be then I would love to be behind the lens or working with the process in some way.  I’ve learned a tremendous amount through observation and experience; hopefully that will come in handy one day. 

  

Quick Fire Questions

 

 

Favourite Place on Earth?

Cape Town.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Loving Spotify Ibiza I Deephouse.

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

Great Day to Be Alive – Travis Tritt

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

ACM – of course.

 

What’s your favourite piece of clothing you own?

Right now my Danward speedos.  I’m going to Cape Town next week. 

 

What’s a top beauty or style tip you live by?

Black is everyone’s color. 

 

When was the last time you got naked?

Is it weird if I say I’m naked now…?

 

Best advice you’ve ever been given?

Be on time.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Steve Grand.  And I’m pretty sure he knows it. (embarrassed face)

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

I have boat loads to be thankful for.  So pretty good.

 

 


Model: Andrew Morrill

Instagram

Represented by: W Model Management

WModel

Words By: Craig Andrew James

InstagramTwitter


 

All selfies provided by Andrew and exclusive to the Model Talk Series by Craig Andrew James. Photoshoot photos provided by Andrew and Credit goes to the original photographer.

