Model Talk with Alex Sewall!

 

“The idea behind our Model Talk series is a simple one. Give male models a voice. Often male models are seen as the accessory in a shoot. So often they wear the clothes or front the campaign but we never get to know them. So why not change that? So over the next few months we will be sitting down and taking the time to get to know some of the top models in the industry and who knows what we all might learn.”

 

ALEX SEWALL

 

Alex Sewall is a 25 year old model from Chicago, and although he hasn’t moved away from his hometown, his career is certainly moving in a one way direction to success. Having played football in college at Indiana State University, before getting in camp with the Cincinnati Bengals, and then playing a brief stint of arena football, he is now fully focussed on his modelling career. So what better time to talk modelling with Alex and find out what it takes to make it to the top. 

 

 

I’ve always been comfortable in my own skin. I think my confidence in that aspect comes from me putting a lot of time and effort into making sure my body is in great shape

 

Football has been a huge part of your life and you still love it. That’s something that helped shaped you as a person right?

I’ve been through so many ups and downs with football, but each one has shaped me into who I am and made me stronger as a person. Of course I miss playing! Those were some of the best times of my life, and I will definitely cherish them forever. One time during winter conditioning, we had just finished our second to last 350-yard spring in the freezing cold and almost 2 feet of snow on the field when one of my teammates said “Come on guys, one more to go!” Our coach heard this and yelled, “Who said this is your last one? You guys aren’t done till I say you’re done!” So we continued to run a few more because of that. It was so awesome though and something we still talk about when I see them.

 

Was modelling always something that you wanted to pursue? And how did you get started in the industry?

Yeah modeling was always something that I wanted to get into when I was done with my football career. I got started by going into an open call, and they liked me so I’ve just been trying to push it as far as I can and see where things take me.

 

You’ve worked with so many amazing photographers, is there any shoots that stand out for you and what made them particularly special to you?

I think two shoots stand out for me. The first one would probably be my first test shoot about 2.5 years ago. I just look back at it and see how far I’ve come and everything I’ve learned so far. The other is the first time that I shot with Bruce Weber. He is just an amazing photographer and a better person. He’s really helped me a lot with being better in front of the camera.

 

Alex Sewall 8

 

my booty is usually the thing that gets the most comments and compliments

 

Obviously being a good looking man and having a well sculpted body, there is an inevitability that photographers are going to want to show that off. 

I’ve always been comfortable in my own skin. I think my confidence in that aspect comes from me putting a lot of time and effort into making sure my body is in great shape and looks good. I know that I workout and train very hard, so when that time comes [to show some skin] I have no problem showing it off.

 

You clearly work hard on your body; fitness must be a big part of your life.

Yes, fitness has been a huge part of my life since I was going into high school. That’s when I got really into weightlifting. Playing sports definitely helped to mold my work ethic and I carry that with me in everything, especially training. As far as what I do, I still love to lift weights and do cardio. I enjoy running, and playing basketball as a different form of cardio.

 

 

What’s your favourite part of your body and what do you find gets the most compliments on shoots?

My favourite part of my body would probably be my shoulders or calves. However, my booty is usually the thing that gets the most comments and compliments during my shoots (laughing).

 

Are there any designers or photographers that you would love to work with and what would be your dream campaign to shoot?

I would love to work with Mariano Vivanco and Mario Testino. I haven’t been able to meet them yet, but I love their work and have only heard great things about them! My dream campaign would definitely be a Calvin Klein underwear campaign. That’s something that is just so iconic, so it would be really special to have that opportunity.

 

 

 

Has there ever been any embarrassing moments happen to you whilst modelling?

Not so much embarrassing, but a funny story. As a model, we often change in and out of clothing when people are around, especially backstage at shows when tons of people are around. You get used to changing at the drop of a hat no matter who is around. So at this one shoot the stylist had given me my look to change into and I didn’t see a room or anywhere to change in my sight, so I started to disrobe right there. She quickly said I know you guys are used to changing wherever, but can you go inside in the bathroom. I pulled up my pants and went on my way (laughing).

 

When you’re not modelling what else do you like to do to keep busy?

I keep busy by working out, reading books, listening to music, writing music, and watching anything interesting on Netflix.

 

We get the feeling there are big things coming your way in the future.

I definitely want to continue to build on the positive things I’ve had going for me recently and book some more bigger [sic] campaigns. I also would like to get into acting and see where that takes me. Lastly, I have a lot of ideas for different businesses and just need to decide which route I want to take and which one I’d like to create. You guys should look out for me in a great new fragrance campaign for Ralph Lauren that I was a part of, that comes out in a couple months!

 

 

Quick Fire Questions

 

 

It feels good to be me. I’m just living life and doing what I love, taking it one day at a time.

 

Favourite Place on Earth?

Chicago. It’s home, and it’s the best city in the world to me.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

I’m a big rap/hip-hop fan, so I always like listening to artists like Eminem, Kanye, 2 Pac, and Machine Gun Kelly. I really enjoyed Justin Bieber’s new album also, I thought he showed tons of growth and put out a solid project.

 

What’s your go to song in the shower

Lately its been either Love Yourself by Justin Bieber or Hello by Adele.

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

I probably would be more of a solo artist, but I would probably go by Apollo.

 

What’s your favourite piece of clothing you own?

Black leather jacket.

 

What’s a top beauty or style tip you live by?

People typically notice your feet first, so make sure your shoe game is on point.

 

When was the last time you got naked?

Today in the shower.

 

Best advice you’ve ever been given?

Don’t take yourself too seriously.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Natalie Eva Marie and Gigi Hadid.

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

It feels good to be me. I’m just living life and doing what I love, taking it one day at a time.

 


Model with:  Ford Models

Front Management

Kult Models

Follow Alex on Instagram


All selfies exclusive to the Model Talk Series by Craig Andrew James. Photoshoot photos provided by Alex and Credit goes to the original photographer.

 

