Feature Follower: Jacob

This month’s feature follower is the amazing Jacob from Sydney Australia. We’ve had our eye on featuring Jacob for a while now and what better way to kick off the New Year. Prior to working in sales and marketing for Teamm8, Jacob studied Italian and also worked as a high school teacher. So what makes Jacob so special? We decided to find out. We’ve learned he’s already accomplished so much in his thirty-one years and there is plenty more to come! Find out everything you need to know below!

 

Jacob

 

How did you get started in the work that you do and what background do you have in it?

Well I was a high school teacher for a few years but really didn’t know if that was exactly what I wanted to be doing for the rest of my life. Initially I studied Italian because I wanted to become an opera singer (believe it or not), but realized it wasn’t really my passion. During years of study I worked in fashion retail and enjoyed it. I didn’t take it seriously though until now, when I chose to work at teamm8. I wanted to give it a go and then kind of fell into this role of sales and marketing. I think that my creative side and skills in dealing with people complimented this job role that I am currently in.

 

Are there any moments in your career so far that stand out for you? Talk a bit about them and what makes them special to you.

Well the biggest moment was when I decided to buy a camera to take lifestyle images for the company. This tapped into my creative side, a side I had put on hold for quite some time. I never really knew I had it in me to capture decent images.  It is nice to be able to create something that people can appreciate. The camera gives me a sense of purpose and pride, and I love having more creative control with teamm8’s overall image.

 

Looking at your social media, it’s clear you keep in shape. Is fitness something that is important to you and what’s your secret to looking so good?

Fitness is extremely important to me. It keeps me focused, in control and on track. I really don’t have any secret except for balance and consistency. It is important to have a pattern in your everyday routine and try and stick to that pattern as much as you can, without being too hard on yourself. There are heaps of times that I break out of habit, but I have learnt [sic] not to beat myself up over it. Just do the best you can and enjoy life along the way.

 

 

You’ve also done some modelling. What’s your experience in that industry and what do you love about it?

I don’t have heaps of experience being in front of the camera! I’ve been in a few modeling shoots and they’ve been fun. In the industry, I have more experience behind the camera than in front of the camera. I know that it isn’t as easy as everyone thinks being in front of the camera; it takes hard work and patience to capture great images. But what I love about it is seeing how the photographer was able to capture me in a specific way. All the shoots I have been in are completely different, and when I see the results of a shoot I laugh and ask myself ‘Who am I?’ because I’d never really interpreted myself in that way, which is pretty funny but cool at the same time.

 

What other stuff, when you’re not working and modelling, do you like to get up to?

When I am not working and modeling I am usually at the gym, with family and with friends. I love to be around people. I also love to listen to music and take photos, and head to the beach on my days off, which are rare at the moment because I am working on finishing my Marketing Diploma.

 

 

If you could go back and give advice to your 18 year old self what would that be and where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years?

I love this question! I would tell my 18 year old self ‘do what you want in life, not what other people want. Be happy with who you are! Don’t hold back worrying about what other people think all the time.’ I am happy with who I was but I admit I cared too much about what other people think (and still do, to an extent).

I would love to see myself doing something for myself, don’t know what it is. I am enjoying myself and where I’m at and think that it is taking me to the right direction.

 

What is the lasting impression you would like to leave for the readers?

Be consistent for consistency shows value in whatever you’re after. BOOM!

 

 

Quick Fire Questions

 

Favourite place on earth?

Italy.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Briefs!

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Unbreakable Album by Janet Jackson.

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

Definitely ‘My All’ by Mariah Carey (laughing).

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

JDNAS.

 

What is your favourite teamm8 piece that you always wear?

Rider Sweat Pants and classic brief underwear.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Scarlett Johansson.

 

Who’s the best kiss you’ve ever had?

That’s a secret!

 

What do you wear to bed?

Just underwear usually.

 

What’s your favourite part of your body?

My Nose!

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

CRAZY! Always Crazy.


 

Make sure to follow Jacob on instagram here.

