Feature Follower: Louis McMiller

There is no shortage of inspiring people who pop up on our social media feeds every single day. Dancers, Models, Sportsmen and women. Louis McMiller is just one such person. At the age of just 25, he has already danced for the likes of Paloma Faith and modelled for publications such as Coitus and Winq Magazine. There really was know better follower to be our final of 2015. We sat down to talk dance, crushing on Kim Kardashian-West and keeping those abs tight.

 

Louis McMiller

 

How did you get started in dance and what background do you have in it?

I started dancing at the age of 7, in Bristol where I am originally from. It was a tiny dance school and something that kept me out of trouble and a passion my grandmother had back when she was around my age now. I studied at The Royal Ballet School in Covent Garden and while in my graduate year there, I was fortunate enough to be offered my dream job at Company Wayne McGregor, allowing me to work with the most influential and inspiring choreographers around.

 

Are there any moments in your career so far that stand out for you? Talk a bit about them and what makes them special to you.

My first day at work was a shock, something I won’t forget and a massive learning curve for me. It taught me that you will always keep learning, even when you might think you know everything! Going from classical ballet to contemporary was a big step, especially at 19 and with no working experience under my belt. I am so grateful to Wayne for teaching me so many skills and bringing out something in me that I had no idea was even there!

Doing the Album Artwork for FKA Twigs’ EP Dancing for Paloma Faith at The Brit Awards 2014 was awesome (she is so lovely!) and the most recent stand out for me, was back in September when my mum walked into the Uniqlo 5th Avenue Flagship Store in New York, beaming with pride and happiness as she saw my Worldwide commercial 10ft tall on the wall!

 

 

Looking at your social media, it’s clear you keep in shape. Is fitness something that is important to you and what’s your secret to looking so good?

Keeping in shape naturally comes hand in hand with my job, dancing for 8 hours a day – it would be hard not to keep in some sort of shape! Of course, I always want to look better, but who doesn’t right!? I think cross training is the best way to keep your body motivated, so I do a lot of Yoga (which also levels out my head when I am stressed or ridiculously busy!) and I sometimes like to swim to relax my muscles after a long day at work and obviously aiming for that swimmers V shape! Also, drinking lots of water is super important. It flushes out all of the crap that goes in from partying and pollution and everything in between, plus it keeps your skin looking good too.

 

You also model. What’s your experience in that industry and what do you love about it?

I am represented by Nevs Model Agency in London and they are really great! They’re really understanding of my busy travel/work schedule and so whenever I am in town, I pop in for a quick hello and a hug from the girls at the table! I have done several editorials and fashion films including County of Milan by Marcelo Burlon, Coitus Magazine, Winq Magazine, Flaunt Magazine and NOWNESS, as well as campaigns for New York designer, Patrik Ervell, Westfield Shopping Centre and Uniqlo.

 

 

What other stuff, when you’re not dancing and modelling, do you like to get up to?

I love going for dinner with my friends and having a catch up! I don’t see them as much as I would like to because we are all working but when we get together, it’s pretty much chaos… good chaos! Once the red wine and gin has gone and the tequila comes out, we usually end up going out until the next morning!

 

If you could go back and give advice to your 18 year old self what would that be and where would you like to see yourself career wise, and in life, in the next 5 years?

I definitely don’t regret anything I’ve done and don’t think I would do anything differently but advice I would give to my 18 year old self, hmmm… I would say be more positive and believe in yourself more – I think my favourite thing to say at 18 was “I can’t” when actually thinking about it, I really could! Those young years are so hard and so important, but these are the ones that will start to shape you into the person you will become in a few years time. In the next 5 years, career wise I imagine I will be living in Los Angeles doing PR for someone and having a great time and living life like I was still 21! And life wise, I don’t know, I’m happy with the way things are right now.

 

What is the lasting impression you would like to leave for the readers?

That’s a hard question! I guess that amongst all the fun, craziness and naked selfies, there is a sensible, smart boy in there… somewhere!

 

 

Quick Fire Questions

 

Favourite place on earth?

My bed.

 

Boxers or Briefs?

Always briefs.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Missy Elliott, Grimes and Selena Gomez are up there right now on my iTunes!

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

It’s usually a very interesting tune made up by myself!

 

If you had your own band what would they be called?

Boujilicious.

 

What is one beauty or style tip that you live by?

I live by #AllBlackEverything for style and my beauty tip would be to always have a good lip balm and brush your lips when you brush your teeth – they need exfoliating too!

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Kim K-W

 

Who’s the best kiss you’ve ever had?

That would be telling…

 

What do you wear to bed?

Briefs and a tee.

 

What’s your favourite part of your body?

My lips.

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

Fucking amazing! I’m kidding!!! Life is good, my friends and family are happy, therefore – I’m happy.

 


Instagram: @mcmiligram

Twitter: @TheRealMcMiller

Showreel: vimeo.com/142639911


