Feature Follower: James Tomlinson

It’s that time again. Time to get inspired by one of our followers and who better than James. Hailing from Nottinghamshire he moved to London at just eighteen  years old to attend dance college. At the age of just twenty-four he has danced on TV, and on the theatre stage, but you will currently find him dancing and doing aerial work for celebrity cruises. So as he cruises around the world we decided to take some time to get inspired by our latest featured follower and here is what James had to say.

 

James Tomlinson

I love what as dancers we can create with our bodies and tell a story.

 

 

So why did you want to get into dance and was that something you always wanted to do?

I was a gymnast as a kid and then I decided I’d rather be a dancer as my sister did it. I’m really naturally competitive so I wanted to be better than her and prove a point and it started from there really. I love what as dancers we can create with our bodies and tell a story. Keeps you majorly fit as well so I don’t have to do hardly any cardio at the gym.

 

Looking at your social media it’s clear you keep in shape. Is fitness something that’s important to you and what’s your secret to looking so good?

So believe it or not I only started going to the gym and weight training in February of this year. I’m naturally really slim so I had to go hardcore at it. I’ve only just begun really and I’m working towards an image in my head of what I’d like to look like. And my secret is… A healthy diet and a good protein shake. I love working on my chest and I always enjoy working on that part.

 

 

So is there any moment in your career that so far stands out to you? What makes it a special moment for you?

Oh… Good question. I once got to work for Cheryl Cole which was pretty fun. It was for her Christmas special and it was my first time on a TV set and it was really exciting. Also I was part of a show in Macau, China where I performed in front of all these Chinese superstars who I didn’t have a clue who they were. It was also in front of a two thousand strong crowd and it was pretty insane.

 

I love acting and [being] somebody completely different from who I actually am.

 

Looking at your social media, you’ve also done some modelling, is that something you’d like to pursue further?

Yeah I’m always going for castings when I’m back in London and I’m blessed enough to test and update my portfolio a lot with some amazing photographers. I’m only 5ft 8″ so I can’t to any fashion stuff, I’m too short, but I’d like to go more into the fitness side of things when my body is at a better physical level.

 

So where would you like to see yourself in five years from now?

Five years… I’d like to be in a soap opera. Hollyoaks, Coronation Street, that sort of thing. I love acting and [being] somebody completely different from who I actually am. Or I’d like to be in Australia on Home and Away. I love it down under (laughing).

 

 

So looking back on your career is there anything you would do differently and what advice would you give to an eighteen year old you?

Oh yes… I would care less about what other people thought about me and be more confident and stop trying to change who I am to fit a certain mould about what I think I need to be like to fit in. Also I’d [have] gone to the gym a lot earlier on… Since I’ve added some muscle I get far more attention. Which is quite sad really.

 

And what’s the lasting impression you’d like to leave the readers with?

The lasting impression (laughing). There’s more to me than meets the eye. I’m a massive history and politics geek who watches BBC news for pleasure at night-time in bed.

  

 

 

Quick Fire Questions with James

 

Favourite place on earth?

Manly Beach, Australia

 

Boxers of Briefs?

Briefs all the way.

 

What’s on your music playlist right now?

Prince!

 

What’s your go to song in the shower?

At the moment… Focus by Ariana Grande.

 

If you had your own band, what would they be called?

Tops and Bottoms.

 

What is one beauty or style tip you live by?

If all else fails… Just wear all black. And lots of water.

 

Who’s your celebrity crush?

Ariana Grande… I mean she could sing me to bed.

 

Who’s the best kiss you’ve ever had?

The best kiss I’ve ever had… Would be my first kiss. I was five at dance school in the toilets.

 

What do you wear to bed?

Nothing. Ok that’s a lie, I wear Versace Eros. I always have to smell nice! But clothing wise… I’m in my birthday suit.

 

Favourite part of your body?

My chest and my bum.

 

What does it feel like to be you right now?

Determined.


For more James follow him on Instagram

 

 

